skip to main content
Board of Trustees  /  About

About the Caltech Board of Trustees

Since Caltech's institutional origins on October 2, 1891, 319 men and women have served as members of the Board of Trustees. Led by David W. Thompson, chair, and vice chair Barbara M. Barrett, the Board of Trustees is currently composed of 54 trustees, 23 life members, and one honorary life member. 

Under the provisions of the Bylaws of the California Institute of Technology, the the Board directs all activities and affairs and exercises all corporate powers of the Institute.